Quick Answer: Both are tank-style TAC conditioners that reduce scale without salt, a drain or electricity. Neither removes hardness. Choose the Pelican NaturSoft NS3 if you want the stronger third-party paperwork: Pelican cites WQA Gold Seal recognition and DVGW testing. Choose SpringWell FutureSoft if your home has 7+ bathrooms (Pelican doesn't make a size that large) or you want clearly published water limits and a 6-month money-back window. On well water with any iron or manganese, choose neither until you've added pretreatment. Neither system is currently in stock on Amazon, so buy direct from the manufacturer or an authorized dealer.
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, Grains & Gallons earns from qualifying purchases.
| SpringWell FutureSoft | Pentair Pelican NaturSoft | |
|---|---|---|
| Sizes | FS1 (1–3 bath), FS4 (4–6), FS+ (7+) | NS3 (1–3 bath), NS6 (4–6) |
| Service flow | 12 / 15 / 20 gpm (SpringWell spec table) | Commonly listed around 10 gpm (NS3) and 15 gpm (NS6) |
| Max hardness | 81 gpg | Pelican material cites 75 grains; one reviewer lists 81 gpg |
| Iron / manganese allowed | 0 ppm / 0 ppm | Pretreat for iron and manganese |
| Free chlorine | Up to 3 ppm | Not stated in sources we found |
| pH / temp / pressure | 7.0–9.5 / 34–120°F / 20–80 psi | Not stated in sources we found |
| Scale-reduction claim | "Up to 95%" on SpringWell's current page (99.6% in older materials) | 99.6% in third-party testing, per Pelican |
| Certification cited | None specific to the product | WQA Gold Seal recognition, DVGW (per Pelican) |
| Pre-filter | 5-micron sediment, included | 10" 5-micron sediment, swap every 6–9 months |
| Warranty | Lifetime on tanks, valves, heads and media (defects) | Limited lifetime on NaturSoft media |
| Trial | 6-month money-back guarantee (installed-system scope unclear) | Not stated in sources we found |
Our call: Pelican for a typical 1–6 bathroom house on city water, mainly because its certification claims are specific. SpringWell for very large homes, or for buyers who want written operating limits to hold the company to.
In this guide
What you're buying (and what you're not)
Before comparing details, be clear about what both products do. A FutureSoft or NaturSoft tank leaves calcium and magnesium in your water. As water passes through the media, some of the hardness is converted into tiny crystals that are much less likely to stick to pipes, heating elements and fixtures as hard scale. A hardness test strip will read about the same before and after. That's expected, not a sign the system failed. If this is new to you, read does a salt-free system actually soften water? and our explainer on how salt-free conditioners work.
In practice:
- You keep: the minerals, normal-feeling water (no "slippery" soft-water feel), and a system with no salt bags, wastewater or power cord.
- You don't get: spot-free glassware. One review notes NaturSoft does less to prevent spotting on glass than a salt-based softener. The minerals are still in the water, so they're left behind when droplets dry.
If spot-free showers and shiny dishes are the goal, a conditioner is the wrong tool. Our guide to when a salt-free conditioner is wrong covers the other cases where it doesn't fit.
Where they actually differ
1. Sizing at the top end
SpringWell makes three sizes. The largest, the FS+, is rated for 7+ bathrooms at a stated 20 gpm. Pelican tops out at the NS6 for 4–6 bathrooms. If you have a big house, or a household where several showers, the irrigation system and the laundry all run at once, SpringWell is the one with a size built for it.
A note on flow numbers: SpringWell's own site isn't consistent. Its spec table lists 12/15/20 gpm, while its size guide uses different model names and figures. Third-party comparisons give Pelican's NS3 around 10 gpm and the NS6 at 15 gpm. For a typical 2–3 bathroom house on 3/4" plumbing, either brand's smallest size is enough. If you're close to the next bathroom bracket, size up.
2. The paperwork
This is Pelican's strongest point. Pelican's product material says the NaturSoft system was recognized by the WQA Gold Seal certification body, passed DVGW testing, and showed 99.6% scale prevention in third-party testing. One review site also lists NSF/ANSI 42 and 61 certification. We couldn't confirm that on a certification listing, so treat it as unverified.
SpringWell's FutureSoft page doesn't name a product certification. Its current page says "up to 95%" scale prevention, while older reviews quote 99.6%. That doesn't mean FutureSoft performs worse. It means you're relying more on the company's own claims.
3. Written operating limits
This is SpringWell's strongest point. Its spec table lists hard limits: 81 gpg hardness, 0 ppm iron and manganese, up to 3 ppm free chlorine, 0 ppm copper, oil and hydrogen sulfide, pH 7.0–9.5, 34–120°F and 20–80 psi. The warranty excludes water outside those limits. That's strict, but at least you know where you stand.
We couldn't find an equivalent published table for Pelican. Both companies say to pretreat well water for iron, copper, manganese and hydrogen sulfide.
4. Guarantee and warranty
Both offer lifetime coverage. SpringWell's covers defects in tanks, valves, bypass, heads and media. Pelican's limited lifetime warranty is on the NaturSoft media. SpringWell also advertises a 6-month money-back guarantee. Its return policy separately says installed systems aren't returnable unless they're defective, so get the terms in writing before you rely on it.
A worked example: 3 bathrooms, city water, 14 gpg
Say you have a three-bathroom house on municipal water testing at 14 gpg, with chlorine around 1–2 ppm and no iron.
- Hardness: 14 gpg is well under both brands' ceilings (81 gpg for SpringWell, 75 grains in Pelican's material). Either one is fine.
- Chlorine: SpringWell allows up to 3 ppm free chlorine, so typical city levels are within its stated limit. Pelican doesn't publish a figure we could find. If your utility uses chloramine instead of chlorine, ask both companies directly, because neither source we found addresses it.
- Size: three bathrooms is the top of each brand's small tank (FS1 or NS3). If you're planning a fourth bathroom or have a big irrigation system on the same line, go up to the FS4 or NS6 now rather than replacing the tank later.
- What you'll notice: less new crust on fixtures and in the water heater over time. You'll still see spots on glass shower doors, and soap will lather about the same.
In that house, we'd lean toward Pelican's NS3 for the certification claims, unless the 6-month SpringWell trial matters more to you.
Living with either one
Upkeep is nearly identical and very light:
- Sediment pre-filter: change it every 6–9 months, sooner if you see pressure drop. Both include a 5-micron pre-filter.
- Media: neither brand says the media needs replacing on a schedule. Both describe it as non-sacrificial. SpringWell's page also says 5+ years.
- Bypass: worth having for filter changes and service. SpringWell sells one as an optional add-on, so budget for it.
- Install: both go on the main line after the pressure tank or meter, with no drain or outlet needed. Some installs mean cutting pipe, so a plumber is a reasonable call if you're not comfortable with that.
Our guide to salt-free conditioner maintenance has a simple yearly checklist. If you already have scale in your water heater, read what a conditioner does to existing scale so you know what to expect in the first few months.
Who should pick which
Pelican NaturSoft if:
- Your home has 1–6 bathrooms, on city water.
- Third-party certification is what makes you trust a salt-free product.
- You want a 4–6 bath unit: the NS6 is the step up.
SpringWell FutureSoft if:
- Your home has 7+ bathrooms or very high peak demand.
- You want written water limits and a trial period.
- You also want chlorine and taste handled. SpringWell sells a combo with its whole-house carbon filter.
Neither if:
- Your well water has any measurable iron or manganese and you haven't planned for pretreatment.
- Your hardness is extreme and you want measurably soft water.
- Spotless glass is the goal.
Two lower-commitment alternatives
Watts Premier OneFlow Plus (OFPSYS). This is a cartridge-based salt-free scale and filtration system with 1" connections. It's more compact than either tank and suits a tight utility closet. The trade-off is cartridge replacements over time, unlike the "lifetime media" pitch of the tank systems. Check price on Amazon
A. O. Smith Whole House Salt-Free Scale Control (AO-WH-DSCLR). The listing gives a rated life of up to 6 years or 600,000 gallons, backed by a 6-year warranty. That's more honest than "lifetime," and it tells you when to plan for replacement. Its stated limits are tighter than either tank's: under 15 gpg hardness, pH under 8.3 and less than 0.3 ppm iron, so it suits moderately hard water best. Check price on Amazon
