SoftPro vs SpringWell

Quick Answer: On city water, the SoftPro Elite 48k is our pick. Its upflow regeneration and 10% crosslink resin are built for chlorinated water and lower salt use, and it ships with the bypass valve and brine float in the box. Choose SpringWell's salt-based SS if you have a large home (SpringWell lists 20 gpm on its 80,000-grain model) or you want a whole-house filter packaged with the softener, as in SpringWell's filter + salt softener combo. Both brands sell separate well-water versions. Right now SoftPro's city-water Elite and SpringWell's salt-based systems aren't in stock on Amazon, so buy those direct; SoftPro's well-water Elite is in stock. If you'd rather have a valve any local water pro already knows, the Fleck 5600SXT 48k is the safer long-term bet.

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, Grains & Gallons earns from qualifying purchases.

Search "SoftPro vs SpringWell" and many of the top results are written by SoftPro. Its site has several pages comparing the Elite with SpringWell's SS line, and they come out the way you'd expect. That's not a reason to avoid SoftPro. It is a reason to ignore everyone's comparison pages, ours included, and look at what each company commits to on its own product page.

That's what we did. Every SpringWell figure below comes from SpringWell's salt-based softener page. Every SoftPro figure comes from SoftPro's own Elite product and spec pages, and we've labeled anything that only appears in SoftPro's marketing comparisons.

In this guide
  1. What each spec sheet actually commits to
  2. Upflow vs downflow, in plain terms
  3. Big house? Run the numbers
  4. What's in the box (and what's a checkbox)
  5. Warranty: same word, different footnotes
  6. City water or well water? Buy the right version
  7. Five questions to send before you order
  8. When the answer is "neither"
  9. The short version

What each spec sheet actually commits to

SoftPro Elite (city water)SpringWell SS
Sizes32k, 40k, 48k, 64k; resin preloaded up to 64kSS1 32k · SS4 48k · SS+ 80k
Service flowShown only in charts on SoftPro's spec page; SoftPro's comparison page claims ~15 gpmSS1 11 gpm · SS4 13 gpm · SS+ 20 gpm
RegenerationUpflow (city model); downflow (well model)Not stated; "smart regeneration"
Resin10% crosslink (city); 10% high-capacity per the well model's Amazon listingNot stated on the product page
ConnectionTwo 1" elbow adapters included1"
Operating limitsTanks rated for up to 80 psi25–80 psi, 36–120°F, pH 6.5–10
Brine tankIncluded, with brine well and safety floatIncluded, 18" x 33" round
Bypass valveIncludedOptional add-on
Drain lineNot included (50 ft optional)Included
WarrantyLifetime (SoftPro lists control head, resin tank and brine tank)Lifetime on tanks, heads, bypass, fittings; 5-yr limited on electronic heads
GuaranteeNot stated on the pages we read6-month money-back (installed units not returnable unless defective)

Two things jump out. SpringWell publishes real flow numbers for every size, and SoftPro doesn't in text form. SoftPro tells you what resin and regeneration method you're getting, and SpringWell's SS page doesn't. Our guide on comparing softener spec sheets explains why both gaps are worth an email to the seller before you order.

Upflow vs downflow, in plain terms

This is the one real engineering difference SoftPro builds its pitch around.

In a standard downflow softener, water flows down through the resin during service, and brine flows down too during regeneration. In an upflow (counter-current) design like the city-water Elite, brine goes up through the bed, opposite to the service flow. The cleanest resin ends up at the bottom, right where water leaves the tank. The practical upshot is that you can regenerate thoroughly with less salt. Our explainer on how regeneration works has diagrams.

How much less salt? SoftPro's comparison page claims 40% to 75% less than conventional downflow units, with no independent test data behind it. A modern metered downflow softener with a sensible salt setting already closes much of the gap. Expect a real saving over an old timer-based unit, and a modest one over a well-set-up modern softener.

The 10% crosslink resin matters on city water. Chlorine slowly breaks down standard resin, and SoftPro says its 10% resin lasts up to 20 years under average conditions. We explain the chemistry in how chlorine damages softener resin.

Big house? Run the numbers

Take a family of five at 20 gpg. That's 5 × 75 × 20 = 7,500 grains a day.

  • SpringWell SS4 (48k): at a moderate salt setting you'll get maybe 32,000–36,000 usable grains, so a regeneration every four to five days. It works, but it's working hard. The SS+ (80k) stretches that to roughly a week or more and adds 20 gpm of flow.
  • SoftPro Elite 64k: sits between the two, at roughly six days per cycle on a moderate setting. Workable, but a five-person, 20 gpg home is at the upper end of what it's comfortable with.

For 4+ bathrooms with lots of people, SpringWell's published 80k/20 gpm model is the clearer fit. For a typical 2- to 4-person home, the SoftPro Elite 48k is plenty.

What's in the box (and what's a checkbox)

This is a small thing that changes install day. SoftPro's spec page lists the bypass valve, bypass tool, brine well with safety float, tank jacket and two 1-inch elbow adapters as included. It doesn't include drain tubing.

SpringWell's page lists the softener tank, brine tank, drain line, MNPT fittings, electronic head and power supply. The bypass valve is an optional add-on (pre-selected in the cart), and SpringWell notes you may need more than one 1-inch connector. Either way you'll need a proper drain setup. Check our drain line requirements before buying.

Warranty: same word, different footnotes

Both say "lifetime." Read the footnotes.

SpringWell's terms cover the registered owner only, are void if the system is moved, treat missed filter or media changes as neglect, and cap liability at the product's cost. Solid-state electronic heads get 5 years, not lifetime. For well water, SpringWell excludes hydrogen sulfide, oils, copper over 1.30 mg/L, and iron or manganese without pretreatment.

SoftPro's pages describe a lifetime warranty on the control head, resin tank and brine tank. SoftPro's own comparison page says resin media, O-rings, injectors and standard wear parts are excluded on both brands. SoftPro also advertises free install support for as long as you own the equipment, which is worth something to a first-time DIYer.

City water or well water? Buy the right version

Both brands split their lineups, and buying the wrong one is a common mistake.

  • SoftPro Elite HE for well water: the 32,000-grain well version is on Amazon. The listing specifies 10% high-capacity resin and a 1" bypass valve, claims up to 75% less salt and 64% less wastewater, and adds an automatic refresh that flushes stagnant water after 7 days of non-use. Warranty is 10 years on the valve and lifetime on the tanks. At 32k it's the smallest size, so size up if your well adds iron to the load. Check price on Amazon.
  • SpringWell salt-based well system: SpringWell packages its well softener with filtration as the SpringWell Salt & Well Water System. It isn't in stock on Amazon at the moment, so buy it direct.

If your well has iron, add it to your hardness number before sizing. See how iron changes softener sizing.

Five questions to send before you order

Both companies answer pre-sale questions, and the answers tell you more than any comparison page:

  1. What's the rated service flow for the exact size I'm buying, and at what pressure drop? SoftPro shows this only in a chart image.
  2. Is the regeneration upflow or downflow, and what resin is in the tank? SpringWell's SS page doesn't say.
  3. Is a bypass valve included, and are 1-inch connectors included? One brand includes the bypass. The other offers it as an add-on.
  4. What exactly does "lifetime" cover on the control head? SpringWell says 5 years on electronic heads.
  5. Can I return it after it's installed? SpringWell's terms say no unless it's defective.

Also confirm your house fits the limits. SpringWell lists 25–80 psi and pH 6.5–10. SoftPro says its tanks shouldn't see more than 80 psi. Above 80 psi, add a pressure-reducing valve whichever brand you buy.

When the answer is "neither"

Both brands use their own branded systems. If you'd rather have something any water treatment shop has serviced for decades, look at the Fleck 5600SXT 48,000-grain softener. It's a conventional metered downflow unit, so it won't match the Elite's salt efficiency on paper. But replacement parts and people who know the valve are easy to find. Check price on Amazon.

The short version

  • SoftPro Elite 48k: city water, 2–4 people, you care about salt use and resin life. Currently sold direct rather than on Amazon.
  • SpringWell SS / combo: 4+ bathrooms, you want published flow numbers, or you want a filter and softener from one seller. Currently sold direct rather than on Amazon.
  • Well water: buy the well-specific version from either brand, not the city model. SoftPro's is on Amazon.